Board of Deacons

Chair: Sherry Edlhuber

Board of Deacons



Kettle Moraine United Presbyterian Church has a Board of Deacons composed 8 ordained individuals of which the pastor is an advisory member.

Current members:  Sherry Edlhuber (chair), Sandy Flatt, Diane Kallas, Jan Mahaney, Frank McLeod, Jean Mickler, Judy Warner & Lisa Weatherbee

The office of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ.  Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this office.




a. It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.

m.  They shall assume such other duties as may be delegated to them from time to time by the session, such as leading the people in worship through prayers of intercession, reading the Scriptures, presenting the gifts of the people,

n. and assisting with the Lord’s Supper.


Supervised by Session

As the whole church is under the jurisdiction of the Session, the board of deacons shall be under its supervision and authority. The records of the board of deacons shall be submitted to the Session at least annually and at other times upon the request of the Session. The Session may void or amend any action of the Board of Deacons, or direct the board to reconsider such action.



The board shall meet regularly, or upon the call of its moderator, or when directed to meet by the session, but it shall meet at least quarterly. The board shall determine its own quorum. A joint meeting of the session and board of deacons shall be held at least annually to confer on matters of common interest, with the moderator of the session presiding. No binding decision may be reached in such joint meeting, but the session and the board may act separately on matters committed to their care.


Related Service

Deacons may be appointed by governing bodies to serve on committees or as trustees. The session may select and appoint other members of the congregation to assist the deacons in their ministry of compassion.


The board of deacons elects a moderator and a secretary from among its members.  The secretary keeps a record of the board’s proceedings.


Annual Chicken Dinner, Pie Auction, and Raffle - Stone Bank Park - Contact Duane Koski
  May 2021  
Bible Search
Contents © 2021 Kettle Moraine United Presbyterian Church • Church Website Builder by mychurchwebsite.netPrivacy Policy